Pink Cab Yellow Cab Blue Cab

source: bangkokresidents.com

One interesting thing that came out of an interview I had with a lovely British lady was her tip on taxis in Bangkok. She asked me if I knew the difference between the pink cabs versus the yellow and blue cabs? I stated that I did not, they all have the correct taxi signs on the roof, meter-reading units on the dashboard and the drivers name card and registration hanging on the rear-view mirror. So it turns out, the pink cabs can be hired, by the day, by anyone with a Thai driving lisence.
This explains that whenever I get a pink cab (which is often as I choose pink over yellow and blue) the friggen driver gets lost! Some random dude who normally sells chicken kebabs is like ‘ummm think i’ll drive a cab for the day’ and off he goes and hires a pink one.
We learn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

