Exhaustion & Rice Cakes

Wow, my week is finally over. The hotel food, early mornings, late nights and high heel wearing for 14 straight hours at a pop are behind me.  

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE hotels, especially 5 and 6 star ones. I adore thick carpets and white gloved staff with constant smiles and hot cups of imported tea. I love it when someone runs to hold an umbrella over my head as I make a dash to the outside smoking section. I love luxurous toilet paper folded to a point and customised leather and gold stationary. Everything works and flows and sparkles…..except my brain after four solid days.

The Kempinski Hotel is meant to be Bangkoks most luxurious. The launch event of Pond’s Destino (new anti aging range with actual gold extract) was perfectly matched to the gold themed ball room. The professional photographer kept asking me to crouch down in photo’s though, which is hard to do elegantly.

The girls (leah and rachel) have left. It all feels rather empty and sad. Leah and I did go for a 9pm foot massage on Friday night which was brilliant, until someone called and started negotiating an hourly rate for one of the massage girls. They eventually agreed on a price so the said massage girl whipped off her uniformed sarong and slipped into something more spangly, topped-up her make-up and double-checked the hotel room number before slipping out into the night (and giving Leah a knowing little smile) She is 3,000 Baht an hour or 10,000 Baht for the night in case you were wondering.

This morning as I got up and felt sad at how empty my house felt without the girls, I opened a cupboard and a roll off rice cakes fell out. I then started to make a cup of tea and……….did you know that rice milk is brown?

We are off now to find a Sunday roast. laters x

1 comment so far

  1. Leah on

    LOL! Rice milk is a bit of an aquired taste! Try the Ataraxia instead (not in your tea!)
    Miss you!
    Thanks again for great times! xxx


Leave a Reply

