Granny Yoga

As you well now, this is day three of not smoking. Am surprisingly OK but I think that is because the time is right for me now to quit. Most of my friends have quit or only smoke one a day, and no one wants to be the only smoker left in the village. Am eating lots of gum and fruit, my skin is like a pizza, am coughing, and I can’t sleep. So this morning I got up at 4am and stood in my bathroom, which at that time, was the most entertaining spot I could think of (the window over looks a Lebanese restaurant and there is always someone milling about)

Robbie, a person who loves to be up before the rest of the world, heard me milling and was so delighted leapt out of bed and made me a steaming cup of tea and talked me into a 6am Yoga class! Of course I agreed, what the HELL else is one supposed to do from 4 until 7am? (when you don’t smoke)

So off we went, in the dark, to gym.

The yoga session was intimidating at first, the rows of rubber mats and neatly rolled towels. I took the mat furthest to the back, of course, only to realize it was the front as the instructor came in and smiled as he sat two inches from me. As soon as he went to put in his mix tape I ran to the real back of the room.

Then, 7 Thai grannies came in, all about 5ft2 and giggling hysterically. I was relieved they weren’t expert looking and settled in. WELL how wrong could I have been??!! These late 60’s women kicked my ass in flexibility 100%! Shocking! Legs straight in the air, or hands flat on ground, bending backwards, balancing on one leg and twisting left and right with hands above their heads! I was a quivering wreck trying to keep up.

There were a few funny moments (other than me not understanding the instructor who spoke Thai) like this pose where you lie on your stomach, bend your knees, grab your ankles behind your back and pull so you lift off the mat in a circle. Once up, you kind of get stuck there. So the woman next to me rolled over and couldn’t let go or catch her balance and rolled right into my mat and into me, sending me rolling into the next woman! We were all in hysterics as the instructor came to unlock us all, no one released their ankles!

Finally the last 10 minutes are set to lie still, focusing on deep breathing and clearing of the mind.

Yeah right. I snuck out and had a squizz around the hotel gift shop instead 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

